Jump to content
ACN Latitudes Forums

Recommended Posts

Posted

I'm gfree & vegetarian, not quite vegan (only thing keeping me from that is boiled eggs, pretty much), but they opened a restaurant up the street called Loving Hut that is all vegan & looks awesome. :D A lot of their food is "mock meat" though, & I had to throw out all of my MorningStar Farms mock meat foods because they all contained wheat gluten. I went online & all of this restaurant's foods just say "soy protein". Is that glutenfree? Or does that have wheat gluten too?? I dunno. I'm confused & I have a feeling that if I asked the people there they wouldn't know, haha.

Posted

I'm gfree & vegetarian, not quite vegan (only thing keeping me from that is boiled eggs, pretty much), but they opened a restaurant up the street called Loving Hut that is all vegan & looks awesome. :D A lot of their food is "mock meat" though, & I had to throw out all of my MorningStar Farms mock meat foods because they all contained wheat gluten. I went online & all of this restaurant's foods just say "soy protein". Is that glutenfree? Or does that have wheat gluten too?? I dunno. I'm confused & I have a feeling that if I asked the people there they wouldn't know, haha.

 

 

Emerson,

 

I don't know about Loving Hut, but here is a link for restaurants in your area that have gluten free foods. My son loves the Pizza from Bostons.

 

Linda

 

http://www.glutenfreeregistry.com/gluten-free-state-search.do?state=TX&multipleLoc=Y&inclAccommodates=N&city=Arlington

Posted

soy protein, in and of itself, does not contain gluten. but you would really have to see the label to make sure nothing is added (for example, some soy cheeses still contain caseine which is a dairy protein).

Posted

Thank you Linda! & Stephanie too. I'll ask them when I go! Some foods on their online menu actually just say "Gluten" in the ingredients, so I'd think the ones that don't would be A-OK but better safe than sorry.

Posted

Hi There!

 

Most of the time "soy protein" DOES contain gluten, unless it specifically says it does not, or, if its tofu, or tempeh. Soy proteins, like the veg sausages and mock hamburger meat and "foney baloney" you can buy in the supermarket, DO contain gluten which, because of its sticky nature, helps to hold it together. In fact, if you look at the ingredient list, it specifically says wheat gluten or vital wheat gluten, and i have no idea why they call it vital wheat gluten.

 

my DS 14 with PANDAS also has celiac, and we were recently reminded of this exact thing, when he was at some gathering and they were having veg tacos using "soy protein" and after just a few bites, within 10 minutes, he could feel something, and he asked the people if there was gluten and they were like no way, its soy protein. and then a half hour later he asked them again if he could see the label because he could feel it, and yes one of the ingredients was the addition of gluten, to make the soy protein more of a meaty texture.

 

i have a great list of gluten-containing foods including hidden gluten, which is way too long to post here i think, but if you PM me your email, i'll be glad to send, in case that helps.

 

Good luck!!

amy

Posted

That's what I'm saying though. I'm gonna ask the people there, obviously, but I figured someone here might know. Some of their foods have "Gluten" in the ingredients. Most of the ones with soy protein don't. I know I was not a happy camper when I realized MorningStar Farms & wheatgluten were best friends, so I was looking out for it & it's not in the ingredients list. We'll find out Saturday! They have tofu stuff too, I just miss my veggie meat. D: Thank you AmyJoy!

Posted

Don't hate me, but I have read in a couple of places that the protein in soy resembles the protein in wheat closely enough that an allergy or intolerance to the one predisposes you to developing an allergy or intolerance to the other.

 

I have also read that soy is hard for the body to handle unless it is fermented (ie. soy sauce & such) which supposedly is the only way the Chinese ate it traditionally (don't know about modern times).

 

You might want to do some google research on soy. I think the Weston Price Foundation was where I saw the info about not eating it unless it's fermented. I would definitely try to avoid eating it every day. As much as it sucks to find out now, it's worse finding out after you go to all the trouble of changing your diet & then learn that you have to change it all over again. (Been there, done that a time or two :wacko: )

 

Hope you don't mind me asking, but I'm wondering what do you do to get your B12? Sounds like we can only get a significant amount of it from animal sources. My ds18 definitely has no problem eating meat, but his body does not digest it well apparently, & his B12 is low along with his serotonin & GABA. I looked it up & sure enough B12 is directly used in the body's mfr of serotonin & indirectly for other neurotransmitters. Apparently B12 deficiency is common in conditions that affect the neurological system - probably because of all the stress the body is under is my guess.

Posted

Hey Emerson,

Grace is right about soy.

Find yourself anything coconut. It's the best thing for you.

Extra Virgin Coconut oil- a tablespoon a day.

Coconut milk is in cartons.

Just don't buy hydrogenated coconut anything and you'll do great. The benefits of coconut are so great that the market (coconut flour, coconut sugar, etc) is going to explode.

 

Michael

Posted

Coconut is my second favorite flavor. Yay me. :D I'm guessing Almond Joys don't count? (Ha - ha... :P)

& I don't eat soy anymore! Besides in soymilk. Which is necessary because I find rice & almond milk repulsive, & I don't drink it often anyway. When all of the mock meat products went out the window so did 99.9% of my soy intake.

That makes me sad about the soy being similar to wheat though. :/ Part of me is tempted to try it & just see if it makes me feel bad, but we're celebrating Halloween that night so that might not be the best idea.... Hmph. Tofu it is, I suppose.

 

Also, just checking, but Caramel Coloring isn't safe either? Mom's been getting better at checking ingredients (finally realized that it doesn't always say "GLUTEN!" with a bunch of arrows pointing to it) & was nice enough to buy soy sauce without wheat in it, but sure enough there's Caramel Coloring, which I normally avoid.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...