ACN Latitudes Forums

Do transient tics ever go away/ L-Carnitine questions

Hi. I am new to all of this but I have read through this forum for several weeks. My 7 year old son suddenly started snapping his head to the side about two months ago. At first it was only a few times a day but then it became fairly regular. This is now accompanied, at times, by a little vocal that sounds like a quiet hum. The tics are worse when tired or excited. The doctor diagnosed him with transient tic disorder and told us to ignore it and wait a year to see what happens. After reading through the forums I have taken him off most dairy and limit gluten as well. When I tried to reintroduce milk, his tics went crazy. So he is back off of it for now. His teacher says he is not a problem at school and that she barely notices his tics (I feel like I notice every movement when he is with me). He is a good student to this point. The pedi did ask if he had had a sore throat recently and she looked at his throat but that was it. I have looked all over the internet but I do not see anecdotal reports where these tics actually do go away. Does anyone know if there are cases where they really do resolve? Also, I would like to know more about L-Carnitine as I have seen some good results posted here. He is 7 years old. Is he too young for it? What dose would you recommend? What do I need to get: Acetyl l-carnitine or L-carnitine? Thanks for any advice you can offer.

I dont have any information about l-carnitine but the pediatrician asked about a recent sorethroat because I suspect they were considering a diagnosis of pandas. This is when an infection such a strep throat can cause tics. Pandasnetwork.org can give you some information about this if you are not familiar. My son who is 11 now had a sudden onset of tics and was disgnosed with PANDAS.

In reply to your question about carnitine...some people prefer the l-carnitine and others the acetyl-l-carnitine.