ACN Latitudes Forums

Looking for some support

Hello all. I am a lifelong OCD sufferer who is going off to college in the fall and really need some support. I would like to share my story with you.

I have suffered from very severe OCD for my entire life. I was hospitalized on my 14th birthday a few weeks into my freshmen year of high school because my symptoms became so severe that I was not able to eat or function and had dropped into a starvation state. I was medicated with prozac and antipsychotics (risperdone) all through high school and was basically a zombie the entire time. I don't really remember high school very much.

I gained 100 lbs. on risperdone and my senior year I finally said enough is enough and stopped taking it about a month before I graduated in 2006. At this point I was almost 18 and supposed to be going off to college but I was so behind developmentally that this was simply not possible so I opted to go to a community college and try to transfer.

Now I'm 21 and for the past 3 1/2 years I have been going to a community college. I finished up in December and have been waiting this semester at home to transfer. I have come so far yet I've hit another crisis I have developed an unaxplained medical condition involving unexplained pain and ringing in my ears (tinnitus) that my doctors are unable to diagnose much less treat and my severe OCD symptoms are returning as a result of the anxiety involved with not knowing what is wrong with me.

I have been accepted into UCLA and am supposed to be starting there in a few months. I am finally supposed to be getting my chance to be go off to college and have that experience that I never got in high school or at the community college but my symptoms are increasing.

I'v gone back on prozac but have seen no improvement in my symptoms. I know I can't go back on risperdone because it makes me a zombie and doesn't really do much for my severe OCD anyway.