ACN Latitudes Forums

What sort of academic struggles does your child face?

LNN

Type of academic challenges  

31 members have voted

1. 1. Does your child struggle with:

• Math
    • Reading (fluency)
    • Reading (comprehension)
    • Writing (proper spelling)
    • Writing (composing thoughts)
    • Handwriting (legibility)
    • Following directions/attention
    • Timed tests
    • Other (please specify if possible)

I'm curious. When my son was first diagnosed with Pandas, I thought he was the only one who struggled with reading. Unlike the published symptoms, he's strong in math. I'm now coming across others who are in the same boat. So I figured I'd try out this polling option to see what sorts of challenges everyone faces in school. This is my first attempt, so apologies if I screw it up.

Hey! Our dd8 is good with Math even in midst of episode, so it might be hard to see a change (she is usually so far ahead of her class). But her writing falls apart - it seem physically painful for her. Reading is hard to evaluate, as she goes in and out of interest here - but never so bad that we'd notice anything major. It's the ability to put it on paper that is so hard. She cannot spell to save her little life, which is strange when you see how good she is at reading and math. Her art also falls apart, and becomes very interpretive or modern - more like a very young child than a 3rd grader.

For dd8 its timed tests and focus. ( I think I messed up on the poll results :( ) Also, comprehension. When she's in an episode, she can't understand her homework nstructions.

For dd6, it's her handwriting. It goes completely during an episode and takes a while to come back.

Both are very good at math. DD6 is having trouble with spelling and reading, but she's only in the 1st grade so they are not considering her behind at this point.

I'm mainly commenting pre-ivig since things are improving now post-ivig: