ACN Latitudes Forums

Serious adult Tourette's when using a computer/phone

Hello everyone,

I'm wondering if anyone can relate to this or has some useful information about this.

I was diagnosed with Tourette's when I was 10 (I'm now 26). I've tried all the treatments/therapies along those years and very few have shown any help.

My tics in the early days weren't too bad. But in recent years, my tics (both vocal and motor) have been getting out of control. I've tried every major drug there is for it but none help.

What I've noticed is my tics are actually normal when I'm not using a computer/phone. Whenever I use a computer, the tics go out of control. I'm a software developer so I spend all day on a computer, and it's difficult for me to spend time away from a screen during my waking hours (due to job requirements etc).

Does anyone relate to this, or have some more info I could read about this?

Thanks

Yes, there are numerous posts here related to screens and tics.

Try setting your devices on the night light setting and even using computer glasses (you can get those unmagnified if you don't need glasses) It helps with the glare and flash that can sometimes trigger tics. Also search info on Irlen here. Daylight lamps used at night can also help.

We focus mostly on natural treatments for tics and Tourette's here. Do take a look at out "Useful Thread" pinned to the top of this forum as you may get some extra tips to help in general   https://latitudes.org/forums/topic/2459-useful-threads-info-for-tourette-syndrome-tics/

Our admin Sheila Rogers also has 2 excellent books that may be of help

https://latitudes.org/store/tourette-syndrome-triggers-book

and

https://latitudes.org/store/natural-treatments-for-tics-and-tourette-syndrome-book/

• 3 years later...