ACN Latitudes Forums

Ethical responsibility to treat

I have been reading some of the most recent threads. I see a trend that I can't believe we are still talking about. Physicians still not educated in PANDAS/PANS and or physicians who know about the disorder but refuse to treat it.

I am lucky to have a local rheumatologist who is open minded and will treat my son. But her one and only partner will not treat. I attempted to hand him the latest consensus paper and he wouldn't even take it from my hand to read it. REALLY?

I work in health care, but in a different specialty. It irks me this is still happening...since when, if you are a licensed medical professional, do providers get to shun treatment for a group of patients?

Don't get me wrong. I am grateful for the gains that have been made so far. But we are at a point now, with major institutions treating this disorder, that patients should have better access to treatment. Game on.

Rant over. Thanks for listening.

Hippocratic oath says do no harm, it does not say help anyone who needs it. Unfortunately. P/p is still considered controversial. it does not exist in the diagnostic manual and most insurance does not recognize it. that is a bureaucracy

I also think a lot of doctors do not know enough about it. My pedi initially refused when I asked for a referral because she said a negative strep test and blood work meant no Pandas. Then I pushed and she wanted me to go to Boston Childrens Hospital because it was in her network and not Mass General where I wanted to go. After a lot of pushing by me she gave the referral and now my daughter is being seen by 3 great dr, on antibiotics and so much better. Even one of the dr my daughter is seeing said 5 or so years ago he did not believe either but after seeing case after case after case, there is no way he can't believe. I think over time more and more dr will change their views but it is hard. I feel your frustration.