ACN Latitudes Forums

Need Advice - Recent PANDAS Diagnosis

MPatti

Hi,

I am hoping to get some advice/insight as I am new to this. My 5 year old son was diagnosed with PANDAS a week ago. To give some background - on January 10, 2014 he went for his 5 year well visit at the pediatrician - he was given the MMR, chicken pox vaccine and Flu Mist. The next day he started exhibiting a motor tic - constantly. I knew something wasn't right as he has never had any tics before. Two weeks later (January 24) we were seen by his pediatrician who ran a lot of different blood tests. Results came back the following week and I was told everything was normal except for the strep screen. Pediatrician offered antibiotics - which I started him on (Augmentin). After doing countless hours of Internet research, and learning more and more about Pandas, I wanted him to be seen by an expert in this. I was able to get him in to see Dr. Latimer in Bethesda, MD a week ago Friday. She diagnosed him with PANDAS and prescribed Augmentin (1200 mg/day for 30 days) and Orapred (20 mg a day for 7 days, 10 mg a day for 7 days and 10 mg every other day for a week).

He has been on the Augmentin for 10 days (including days he took it as per the pediatrician's instructions) and the Orapred for 8 days. I am seeing absolutely no improvement in him. He tics at least 5 times per minute. I am scared the medicine is not ever going to work.

Does it usually take this long before any improvement is seen? Is there something else we should be doing? We are scheduled to see Dr. Latimer again on February 27.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. It breaks my heart to see him like this.

Meredith

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi--Good for you that you were able to get in and see Dr L so quickly, and to start potential treatment within weeks of the onset. That, hopefully will be a most effective step to have taken!