ACN Latitudes Forums

High serum B12

mdmom

DS16 is compound heterozygous MTHFR. LLMD has him supplementing with sublingual compounded methyl B12 daily (been supplementing for 2.5 yrs).

He also takes 2 Thorne Methyl-Guard Plus capsules QD.

His serum B12 level is >1999 (normal range is 211-946).

I still don't understand the whole methylation issue - we just follow doctor's orders and supplement.

I have 2 questions:

1) Could the serum B12 be elevated from too much supplementation?

2) Is the level high because he does not absorb it?

Thanks in advance for any insight you may have.

I am no expert on this, despite my many postings. It's a topic I'm passionate about but passion does not equal expertise. So this is only my understanding...

when you test too high in B12, I think it means you have unmethylated/unused B12 hanging around. Meaning you either have too much B12 or not enough B9 (in the form of methylfoate). Think of it as trying to make purple. You need equal amounts of methylfolate + methylB12 to make the shade of purple you're after. Instead, your purple is leaning heavily toward the reddish side. You probably need to take in less red (b12) and more methylfolate (blue) to get balance.

So personally, if it were me experimenting with my own child, I'd keep the sublingual methylB12 but stop the methylguard, which has both methylfolate and methylB12. In place of the methylguard, I'd give just straight methylfolate. I use Holistic Health's Methylmate B liquid drops because it helps me tweak doses very easily. But once you settle on a dosage, you can use something different - tho it's hard to find things that don't also contain some form of B12.