ACN Latitudes Forums

Hashimoto's Encephalopathy?

I've had severe hashimotos since I was 16! And suffered from horrendous hives and facial swelling to the point of hospitalization. I used toget hives from a flare now I just loose my mind literally. My hair falls out and I don't know my children's names or where I am, where I'm going or where I've been. In the worst case when my tsh was in the high 60s I could not even speak even though I knew the words in my head. Could read or even find my way out of my own house. Very scary. I never considered it could have been encephalitis but I suppose it possible. Next time I get symptoms I will try Motrin and see if it helps. This could prove the theory at least in my own case. I have a lot of experience with the disorder and treatment but not sure of the relationship to pandas. I can tell you that only the brand name drug works! The generic gives a very inconsistent dose.

I think my son was tested for thyroid and it was normal but not Dd. its very rare for kid to have thyroid problems but they do happen. Dd is now in full remission. We will be testing again in nov. I'm having my adrenal glands tested as well for some new symptoms I'm having. Interestingly low adrenal causes anxiety and depression....worth checking in the kiddos. I don't have those symptoms but have some funky things going on.

I've read here and there over the years about a connection between Hashimoto's and mercury toxicity. T.Anna, has your son been tested for heavy metals? Mercury can come from amalgam fillings, fish, and vaccines (15 would certainly be in the window when they got too much mercury in the childhood vaccines). A genetic mutation in the methylation pathways could cause a problem with detox and allow the mercury to build up and wreak havoc.