ACN Latitudes Forums

Confused about Omega's ..how much? which ones?

Hi,

I am fairly new to this nightmare, dx PANS in late Jan. DD17 has been suffering for 11 years. Just finished lVlG 11 days ago. been searching the forum for Omega info for the last 1.5 hours. My head is spinning and figured someone may be able to weigh in. I think I figured out only Omega 3's but not sure how much to give. she is 100 lbs. no tics just OCD/Anxiety/Panic

She is taking Folic Acid, Vit. E, Florstar and pearls ,Ester C as per Dr. K

(just added Mega Red Omega 3 Krill) (we also throw in an occasional Cultrelle or some other probiotic)

Also figured it might be worth visiting a DAN dr, we live in MA.

Lyme was neg. on Quest Western Blot, no bands present.

Trying to rule everything out.

Thanks in advance, Tiffani

I know there are different opinions regarding the lyme testing. But, for what it's worth my daughter always tests negative for lyme on the Quest western blot. She does test positive with Igenex, and more recently she had a culture done with another lab (Advanced Lab) that showed the spirochettes in her bloodstream. They sent us a picture - so denying it. Unfortunately, the latter test is expensive and not covered by insurance.

Edited by philamom

I think I may have confused you on another thread. Omega 3s are generally good for everyone, Pandas kids, healthy kids...the only exception I was mentioning was for kids with pryoluria - a genetic zinc/B6 deficiency where your body pees away the zinc/B6 before your body has a chance to use it. Pyroluriacs also have an Omega 6 deficiency. Some of the binding sites for Omega 6s also bind to Omega 3s. So if you have an Omega 6 deficiency and then supplement with Omega 3s, you can make the Omega 6 deficiency worse. So my kids with pyroluria do better by taking only Omega 6 (in the form of primrose oil) and no Omega 3s. Hope this clears things up a little.