ACN Latitudes Forums

New Lyme culture test?

eljomom

This was in an e-mail I received from a yahoo group "Virginia lYme" today. Anyone heard of this? Won't be able to use, because we have to stay on antibiotics for pandas too. Quote below:

This is from Dr. Burrascano:

http://www.researchednutritionals.com/information.cfm?id=255

September 5, 2011

Joe Burrascano, Jr., MD has announced a new lab test available for Lyme

doctors to use in determining if Lyme is present.

There is no need to wait for antibodies to form since this is a

culture-based test. This should provide much faster and more accurate detection,

and allow Lyme patients to receive treatment as soon as possible.

Please read below for Dr. Burrascano's description of the new test:

In my work as a consultant, I have been working with a private lab located near Philadelphia, Advanced Laboratories, Inc. They wanted to develop a unique and high value test, and, with my interest in Lyme, I naturally encouraged them to work on a better Lyme Disease test.

As a result of some very intensive work on the part of a group of some very brilliant scientists, they have succeeded in developing a reliable and rapid blood culture for Borrelia! See the attached press release....at TOP of this post.

They actually have rolled out two separate panels- a basic one and an advanced one. In the basic panel, the blood sample is cultured and the positives are identified by histology and growth characteristics, and confirmed by fluorescent immunostaining. Positive reports will include a picture of the Bb growing in that very culture. Positive reports will include a picture of the Bb growing in that

very culture.

The advanced panel will do [all] this, but will also do PCR using well characterized and published DNA primer sets, and then all positive PCRs will be confirmed by DNA sequencing.

Remarkably, turn-around time can be as brief as ten days for the basic test, and seven to ten more days for the advanced panel.