ACN Latitudes Forums

Anyone in the Atlanta area?

Lamb

Hello all -

I am new to the discussion of tics as a mother. I have worked with dozens of children with tic disorders in my work as a School Psychologist; even published a paper on habit reversal while in grad school. Here I am ten years later, and my 4 year old son is having frequent vocal tics. Irony at it's best, huh?

I believe my son's tics are the result of an allergy and am about to take him to see Dr. Tanner in Atlanta. Has anyone ever worked with her? Do you have any suggestions for specific tests to request?

Also, are there any mothers in the area who would like to meet for coffee? I'd love to hear your experiences and share some of mine. What I'm about to do for my son goes against all the training and research I've conducted professionally. If all this works, I will become a very different psychologist. Even if it doesn't, I will still approach neurologically based childhood disorders in a more multi-tiered fashion.

Nancy

Hi and welcome

I am not sure who here is in Atlanta.

I am not sure what you meant by

What I'm about to do for my son goes against all the training and research I've conducted professionally

??

do you mean considering allergy as a possible cause for the tics? or something else

I do know that things like habit reversal are negative for kids with TS as TS tics are not habits, they are involuntary vocal and motor tics that have a neurological cause, not a psychological one.

I look forward to following your progress.

:)