ACN Latitudes Forums

20 days post HD IVIG and doing well

I was afraid of posting this as it might be too early to pop a champaign bottle yet (only 20 days since last IVIG) but could not contain my happiness any longer so here I am reporting to you guys that my ds17 is doing very well. His OCD is almost gone ( I am still learning to distinguish between OCD behavior vs his basic personal preference ) He yelled at his brother for putting his computer on the floor several times but did not go into 2hrs of demanding apology and making us promise that we would not do it ever again for another 3hrs. Yes he gets mad and things bother him but he moves on in 5 minutes. I cannot begin to tell you how nice it is to have a life without his OCD thoughts. As I am typing this, my son is studying for his upcoming Nov SAT test. I am not going to dwell on how we could have been aiming for top schools if it weren't for his PAN/PIT and be happy that he is taking positive steps and embracing his future in a way that was not possible before we took him through PANDAS journey 9 months ago. We are scheduled to get 2nd HD IVIG in 10 days but am not sure if we will do it yet because he is doing so well as it is but we will see.

To be fair, I have to say he has been improving steadily since starting Augmentin 4 months ago so his improvement could have come from Augmentin not from IVIG alone but I believe(hope) IVIG will play its role in the future. I was very discouraged when Dr. K told me that teens have lower chance of recovering from PANDAS but as it turned out my son is doing really really well. I am redecorating my house and doing things I couldn't or didn't want to do due to my son's condition. I hope my son will continue to do well but whatever comes our way, we are ready to tackle it because now we know my son's OCD has beginning and ending compare to being permanent fixture in his brain. Thank you for reading

Pathfinder on Diamond Bar, Ca

Edited by pathfinder