ACN Latitudes Forums

2-year homeopathy update and announcement

For those who don't know me, I have been a member of this group since 2009 when my boys were first diagnosed. I have not been as active in recent years b/c we have finally gained control over this beast of an illness. But I like to come back from time to time to give an update, and our 2-year mark seems like a good time to do so.
First, I'd like to make a quick announcement...I am now studying to become a homeopath and plan to specialize in autism and pandas/pans. I am already working for a new asd/pandas holistic group as a Holistic Healthcare Consultant (guiding moms to the proper avenues within alternative medicine, which includes discussing dietary/supplement interventions and many other avenues).

So our quick history is that both of my boys had severe pandas (psychotic rages and all the typical pandas symptoms, even additional strep-related symptoms such as chiari malformation and opsoclonus-myoclonus). We tried for a couple years to treat with abx/steroids/ivig and many many supplements and experimental meds (spironolactone, LDN). My boys kept getting worse as the abx were causing severe gastrointestinal infections, despite the use of very high dose probiotics. Also, the abx eventually stopped treating strep altogether. During the last month of mainstream treatment I had to put my oldest son on Risperdal, which was my darkest hour really.