ACN Latitudes Forums

OCD Ruining Relationships

I'm new to this whole forum thing, but i was hoping to find someone that can help me out, or maybe share some similar stories to help me out.

I'm 23, and i'm had ocd since i was about 12 or 13(thats when i first started noticing the symptoms anyway).

Through the years i've been on different anti-depressants to try to help calm the obsessions and compulsions, and i've been to numerous counselors. Although I am much better today than 10 years ago..i still constantly have struggles with it and it just drives me crazy.

The thing is..i have a very difficult time in dating relationships because of my OCD. Normal things that any person would worry about, i blow up into a huge ordeal. It's like i can't even differentiate what is a "normal" thing to fight about, and what is "not normal". I have a hard time trusting people because i have been hurt in the past. Then my OCD kicks in and i assume that anyone i'm with is going to hurt me. I obsess a lot about my current boyfriends X girlfriend. I'm constantly obsessing that he will take her back or that maybe he still has feeling for her- even thought he tells me that none of this is true. I constantly question and obsess over how much he really cares about me or whether he even cares about me at all. I'm sick of ruining relationships because of obsessing about them. I was just wondering if anyone out there has any similar problems.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi and welcome:)

there are natural supplements that can help with OCD, as long as you arent also taking prescription meds

5HTP, Inositol, samE/methionine are all very effective in raising serotonin which in turn helps calm OCD symptoms

There is also Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) which, when done with a caring therapist, is very helpful in understanding and reducing OCD

Hi,