ACN Latitudes Forums

DS Tics Growing Worse

This is my first time posting on here after reading many of the forums and postings. My heart breaks for my 8 yr old son who has been suffering with what the neurologist diagnosed in May as a "tic disorder" since March 2010. Here is our background on how things began, as TS or tics do not run on either side of our families:

My son kept having recurring bouts of asthma beginning in the fall of 2008, nothing serious and usually breathing treatments knocked them out and he would not have anything in the summer. Than the fall of 2009 came and he was in the pediatrician's office October, November, December with the result being a treatment of prednisone & albuterol treatments. In January the ped suggested he try Singulair to control the asthma - we agreed as we trusted her. Within a week his behavior changed from a happy boy who enjoyed school to acting out and angry. At this time he started making little noises...I took him back to the pediatrician and she ruled out Singulair for the noises. She then asked me if he has been tested for being gifted to which I replied he did and was....her response was that most gifted children have a form of Tourettes and sent me on my way. Needless to say we switched peds...after dealing with the small tics for a couple of months, they turned into huge snorting noises. We took him to a Cleveland Clinic neurologist who prescribed Clonidine for him. He has been taking 1/4 pill in the a.m and full pill at night since March, 2010.